Star (Kenya)

Mar. 09, 2017, 9:00 am

A file photo of ODM leader Raila Odinga and Turkana Governor Josephat Nanok. /NICHOLAS WAMALWA
A file photo of ODM leader Raila Odinga and Turkana Governor Josephat Nanok. /NICHOLAS WAMALWA

The arid Turkana county has little to show for more than Sh40 billion devolved funds disbursed over the last four years, the President has said.

Uhuru Kenyatta criticised Governor Josephat Nanok on Thursday saying his county was a shameful example of poor service delivery to Kenyans.

Uhuru noted that the county received a sum equal to the total amount sent to Kiambu and Uasin Gishu counties.

“Turkana deserves to develop at the same pace as other counties and its residents have a right to receive efficient and effective services under the devolved unit,” he said.

He spoke in Lodwar town where he was greeted by thousands of residents during a visit with DP William Ruto.

Read: Ruto is ‘bitter’ that Jubilee lost Turkana by-election, Governor Nanok says

Also read: Keep off Turkana county affairs, Nanok tells Ruto

But Uhuru said his government had initiated projects in the county in the areas of energy, health, infrastructure, agriculture, water and security.

He cited the ongoing tarmacking of Kitale-Lodwar road and the supply of electricity to more than 300 schools.

“Since independence, which government has connected more households to electricity than Jubilee?” the President asked.

“If one is a leader keen on uplifting the life of residents, he should join Jubilee – the party that is focused on development and unity.”

The Deputy President said he has fought hard to ensure money for development was sent to Nanok’s county following his request and Uhuru’s determination to transform lives in all parts of the country.

“As a national government, we have resisted calls to change the formula for revenue allocation that would see counties like Turkana allocated less funds,” he said.

Turkana Senator John Munyes led 12 MCAs in defecting to Jubilee Party.

Those who decamped included Raphael Loperito (ODM), James Abei (ODM), David Ateyo (Kanu), Patrick Imana (Kanu), Jackson Lowoi (Kanu), Maria Nasanyana (Kanu) and Emmanuel Lomorukai (Kanu).

Others were Joseph Tioko (Ford-K), John Sepae (Ford-Kenya), Michael Ewoi (Ford-Kenya), Marystella Ekunoit (Ford-Kenya) and Leah Nachere (Ford-Kenya).

Munyes and Senate Speaker Ekwee Ethuro thanked Uhuru and Ruto for the development witnessed in the county.