Mail and Guardian

NUM president Senzeni Zokwana will replace Mantashe as SACP’s chairman, while Blade Nzimande and Jeremy Cronin remain unopposed in top positions.

South African Communist Party (SACP) secretary-general Blade Nzimande and his deputy Jeremy Cronin were re-elected unopposed on Saturday.

The results for the election of the party’s top office bearers was announced at the University of Zululand near Empangeni during the party’s 13th national congress.

National Union of Mineworkers (NUM) president Senzeni Zokwana was elected to the post of party chairman.

He replaced Gwede Mantashe who stepped down.

Solly Maipila was elected second deputy secretary-general while Thulas Nxesi was elected deputy national chairman.

Joyce Moloi-Moropa was elected treasurer—she had previously been deputy chair of the SACP.

All six were nominated unopposed by the nine provinces and the Young Communist League.—Sapa.

. .